From left: Sister Mary Ann Daly, Sister Sheila Brosnan, Sister Jane Iannucelli,
Sister Margaret O’Brien, and Sister Kathleen Byrnes

The Sisters of Charity of New York elected its new Leadership Team during Assembly 2015, held April 7–12, 2015. Sr. Jane Iannucelli was re-elected as President; she named Sr. Margaret O’Brien as her Assistant. Sister Mary Ellen McGovern and Sister Sheila Brosnan were elected as Regional Coordinators; Sister Mary Ann Daly and Sister Kathleen Byrnes were re-elected as Regional Coordinators. This new leadership team, which serves through 2019, was installed formally on June 30 during the Transfer of Leadership ceremony at Mount Saint Vincent, which has been the Congregation’s home base since 1857.

Executive Council

Jane Iannucelli, SC

Margaret O’Brien, SC
Assistant to the President


Sheila Brosnan, SC
Regional Coordinator

Kathleen Byrnes, SC
Regional Coordinator

Mary Ann Daly, SC
Regional Coordinator


Click on a Sister's name to learn more about her background.

The Sisters of Charity of New York are an ecclesial community, called to share in the mission of Jesus, in the spirit of St. Vincent de Paul and St. Elizabeth Ann Seton. Our structures of government exist to facilitate this mission:
  • by challenging us to live the ideals and to follow the vision of the Gospel
  • by encouraging and developing Congregational responses to the needs of the Church and the world
  • by providing for the responsible administration of the material resources of the Congregation
  • by providing for the growth of the members of the Congregation
Leadership structures foster communication and collaboration within the Congregation and in our relationship with the Church and society.